Unlock Your iPhone for Traveling through Europe

How many weeks into traveling does it take to develop some good traveling advice? Well, we could of course say it depends, but I’ve determined that within two weeks, you’re pretty likely to gain some fantastic knowledge that is valuable to be shared.

Within the first three weeks of my 6 months of traveling through Europe, I have what I believe to be a very valuable tip that I want to share. I hope its helpful and as you’ve probably guessed, if I’m already learning this much, there will be even more to come with almost 5.5 months left…or who knows…maybe longer!

My first relates more so to anyone who has Verizon Wireless and is traveling with an iPhone. Many have told me that there was no way that Verizon was allowing for their iPhones to be unlocked so that other SIM cards and service providers could be used on their phones. Well, myself and others have proved that an iPhone with them can be unlocked. They even do it themselves for you. Here is what to do:

  1. Visit this site for all the details that I feel I don’t need to repeat: https://vzwsupport.jive-mobile.com/#jive-discussion?content=%2Fapi%2Fcore%2Fv2%2Fdiscussions%2F696707
  2. Then keep in mind that you can ask Verizon to put your account on one of two kinds of holds: billed or not-billed. The billed means that you still pay each month, but it’s just the basic minimum and your account is not capable of roaming or other charges occurring. The not-billed means that you don’t pay anything for up to 90 days and then at the end of the 90 days you can even request that they give you another 90 day hold or even, at that point, request a hold for up to 6 months! Hard to believe, but it’s what they told me and what I now have set up and am doing myself. The thing with not being billed is that the time you have on hold does get added to the end of your contract period and therefore extends your contract for that much longer. That of course effects upgrades to new phones, etc.
  3. If you have your Verizon iPhone unlocked by Verizon, then you can just go to one of the local providers in the area you’re traveling in and get a SIM card. You can already have this and install it yourself with Verizon on the phone with you to talk you through it. Otherwise, do what I did and already be in another country, get Verizon on the phone (the number is listed on their site which is in the link above in step 1), they adjust your account for it to be unlocked right then and there, then go the next day to buy a SIM card in a local provider store and have them activate it for you.

Make sure to hang on to your original SIM card of course, keeping it in a secure place. You will also want to keep all the details and information that you get from the new SIM card that you purchase and install for the area that you’re traveling in and using your iPhone in. This will have your PIN and you don’t want to lose that.

Stay tuned for other tips that I learn along the way and if you have tips of your own, please share…I have a lot to learn and traveling and fellow-travelers are the best teachers. Ciao! Au Revoir!

Leave a Reply

