It’s not about the Answers

I see them suffering, I hear their woes,

Listening to their hurtful souls.

They’re venting to me, being vulnerable,

Longing to be heard, understood.

I hear and relate, I can understand,

My heart feels for my friend.

To be set free, not hurt but overcome,

Is what we both want for them.

And I hurry to say, I feel it rise up in me,

I know the answers for you.

Yet when I speak , they still do not see,

They tell their story again, more.

But I have the answers for you, I think,

Let me try to tell it differently.

Then it dawns on me, I have to let go,

I’ve been in their shoes before.

Many times hurting, crying for answers,

Yet actually needing more.

A friend to be there, caring, listening,

Some words can be okay too.

There can be answers, yours may be mine,

I’m sure some see them when I don’t.

Yet we all need another journeying with us,

As we walk through what we feel.

Maybe it’s not about the answers,

It’s the actual search for them,

And who stays beside us as we seek.

 

Leave a Reply

