Posture of Surrender

Surrender is so necessary,

It actually is so sweet.

I see it not as cast down,

Or my face toward the ground to meet.

The image is me as a child,

Standing on my feeble feet,

They may be shaky and tired,

But even on tip-toes I raise to entreat.

For as a child to a parent,

I raise my arms up, open wide,

To be swept up in loving arms,

Gathered up to God’s heart, held close inside.

Here is where I am provided for,

Here is all I need.

If my arms were busy grappling,

They would not be empty and free.

To reach high and surrender,

To be empty of what I don’t need,

Free then to receive all I truly dream.

 

One response to “Posture of Surrender

Leave a Reply

