Spring Cleaning – For the Heart and the Home

Are you one of those people who carries out the ritual of Spring cleaning? It just came to my mind this morning as I sit getting work done in the dinning room…bright sunlight is pouring in through the large classic windows of this Victorian home and the trees just outside are popping with bright green buds of leaves being reborn. With their dainty size and scattered hanging throughout the bare branches, they almost look like decorations of bulbs strung up like a garland. But getting back to Spring cleaning…what really brought that seasonal tradition to mind is the pounding of hammers. It turns out that a nearby neighbor’s house is getting their roof redone. Now, I realize, this is far more than Spring cleaning, yet I found myself realizing, I can get annoyed at the insistent loud sound or, I can be creative and tap into the positive fact that it represents productivity, industrious-ness, and improvement! I like those concepts and I work hard to have them in my life, starting with my own thoughts and responses. Too positive for you? Well, that’s okay. To each their own and it still leaves the opportunity for us both to contemplate the act of Spring cleaning.

You see, I don’t own a house and at this time in my life, I don’t even have furniture and I’m selling my car! Yeah…living lite is contagious and I seem to keep simplifying. Yet, I have had homes before and I remember enjoying the practice of Spring cleaning. What is most remarkable for me though is the realization that Spring cleaning can be great to do for the heart.

That’s right…why Spring cleaning for the heart? Well, with all the busyness we can tend to have in our lives and world, why not be intentional about taking time to look at what’s in our hearts? I found it empowering to know myself because this helps me know what I want and what I do not want. Perhaps there is a job, relationship, or certain material items that are only collecting dust and actually taking up space in your heart. Considering what is there, within you, and see what things you want to thank for its experience with you and all it meant for you, and then send it on its way. This makes more room our hearts and minds for all the wonderful things we truly want and desire next in our lives.

So whether or not you enjoy Spring cleaning of your home this season, consider doing your heart and self some good by conducting some Spring cleaning of your heart. It will always look different for each of us and only you will know what you see in yourself and what you want to keep and part with. No matter what, remember that you are worthy and deserving of the best. Sometimes, that may look like letting go of some things to make room in your heart and self for more desires and fulfillment to come. Enjoy the journey!

2 responses to “Spring Cleaning – For the Heart and the Home

  1. Hi Amalia,
    I just wanted to let you know that your post came up through Zemanta as a “related article” when I was writing my own post about spring cleaning, so I linked to it–here’s the post where your own appears in the section at the bottom:
    http://www.joyfullygreen.com/2013/05/my-top-ten-green-products-for-spring-cleaning.html. I completely agree with your thoughts in this post–I’ve written a few posts about taming busy-ness and being more mindful. Nice to meet you across the blogosphere!
    Cheers,
    Joy

    • Hi Joy,
      Thank you so much for linking with my post and your appreciation of the values I wrote about. I continue to be so empowered by the gift of taking time to be still and know myself. Balance is always good and even more so when it starts from within and time given to being still and contemplative. 🙂
      I am so excited to meet you as well through our blogs and please stay in touch and let me know how I can be of encouragement to you.
      Salud! – Amalia

Leave a Reply

