Empowered by Self-Perpetuation

I like words a lot, hence why I must enjoy writing so much. It seems to me that there is a power behind what we put words to. Ultimately, I believe that the power lies in what meaning we each give to something, whether it is an experience, a person, ourselves, or for that matter, a word. Both can go hand in hand, since after all, words are used to then express the meaning which we give something. Let us openly keep in mind as we read this, that this is why a word will mean different things to each of us.

The past week, I felt I was fishing around in my mind for a word to describe a feeling I was experiencing. It felt as though I was desiring something, but in a particular way…or perhaps it’s better described as pinpointing the kind of energy and emphasis I wanted to place on what I am desiring at this time. After days, the word came to me! This was the word…

self-per·pet·u·at·ing

[self-per-pech-oo-ey-ting, self-] 

adjective

1. continuing oneself in office, rank, etc., beyond the normal limit.
2. capable of indefinite continuation.

I love the parts of this definition that I emphasized in bold font. Another definition of this word that I like is the following…

Having the power to renew or perpetuate oneself or itself for an indefinite length of time.” 

For me, this word has come to encompass a powerful concept and energy that I want to see applied to many things in my life. Love (starting with my self-love) is the top one, along with peace and joy, creativity and abundance, traveling and money. Those are not the only things, but it’s a start. Looking up synonyms to the word, also helped me understand and apply it to myself. Click here to see a great list of those words.

What meaning do you give this word? What things in your life would you apply that meaning and energy to?

Leave a Reply

