Experiencing the Flow of Life

This poem was inspired by a spontaneous enjoyment of a Colorado creek. To read more about that experience, visit the post on my travel blog: Going With the Flow of Life.

A spontaneous adventure

Of jumping in a creek

Taught me more than I expected

Its journey for my heart was sweet

Invigorated by the mountain water

Cold chill, a cleansing wash

A soft breeze carrying warm sunshine

The bright rays touching with warmth

As I laid in this flowing water

Laying back to simply float

Allowing it to carry me

Feeling the current move me along

At first I was struggling

Creating my own mistrust

This led to more bumps and bruises

Than when I surrendered,

Completely laid back to float

When I relaxed and enjoyed my breathing

I felt aware, fully present in experiencing

Immersing myself in the river’s flow

Looking up and enjoying the sky’s beauty

The masterpiece overhead of sky, trees, and sun

Feeling the water embracing me

Carrying me so sweetly and strong,

A most beautiful dance of sensations

Of trust and surrender, being taken care of

Of peacefully flowing along

Oh my God! How much this is like life

Where I struggle with the current

With myself and nature I fight

I end up sputtering on that lovely water

Hitting rocks that don’t have to hurt

And what a beautiful lesson

As all life truly is

That I can flow in this life river

It cares for me, bringing me along

For whatever may come my way,

For all that I do not know

For the “what if’s”, the “how to’s”

I can instead embrace the unknown

So I choose to allow and accept,

And this means in love I can let go

To surrender to the power

Of me and the river of life’s flow

2 responses to “Experiencing the Flow of Life

  1. Pingback: Going with the Flow of Life | Amalia Travel

  2. Pingback: Going with the Flow of Life | Amalia Vida

Leave a Reply

