Living Life Years Young and Newer Every Day!

As I write this, I’m sitting under a canopy of bright, vibrant green leaves and surrounded by colors come alive from bushes full of flowers, trees towering high and strong, and creative artistic pools of water dotted with water lilies and flowers. My visual senses are indulged by taking in every color of flower and shape of plant. This nature’s office I am enjoying my work in today is the Denver Botanic Gardens.

Visiting the gardens never ceases to delight and amaze me. Every time there is something new that I see and the rapid flowering growth of every planted and living thing reveals the constancy of change with ever new encounter. As much as I am drawn in by the foliage, I am also enjoying the people. This was the case today, when I noticed an intimate group of four people. As much as I love and am touched by the sight of young children chasing butterflies and scaring squirrels throughout the grounds, my attention was caught by how this particular group stood out…

Entering the wood-deck patio seating in the center of the park, these four chose a table and proceeded to decorate it with a spread that made me think, “now, this is life!“. A white table-cloth came first, proceeded by all the makings of a class-act picnic. I especially approved when I could not help but notice that they brought a bottle of red wine, white wine, and even a bottle of champagne. Upon closer observation when I went to introduce myself, the menu revealed white and milk chocolate covered strawberries, small home-made macaroons, lush chunks of cantaloupe, and robust green grapes.

In case you were wondering, I was not spying out of famished envy. With my love of people leading the way, I went over just now and introduced myself to this lovely group. They are friends in Denver and expressed to me that although they have had memberships to the Denver Botanic Gardens for some time, this was their first time gathering for their friendship picnic. They were so kind to allow me to interrupt their conversations and I was honored to get to meet Patty, Scotty, Gary, and Miriam. I am glad that they were of the opinion that it is never too late to enjoy activities with precious friends.

From left to right: Patty, Scotty, Gary, and Miriam

From left to right: Patty, Scotty, Gary, and Miriam

Seeing people enjoy each other by creating moments like this, truly inspires me and makes me smile all the way down to my heart. In a setting already as beautiful as these gardens, it only enhances the experience of how full and radiant life is. Full of energy, color and beauty; creativity, people and love. And of course food deliciously decadent to the eyes and stomach and nature’s nectar, wine, to bring a pleasant rosy blush to the heart and soul.

Happy summer-time Denver and the world! May we enjoy each other and our precious moments, and in that learn that every moment is precious.

One response to “Living Life Years Young and Newer Every Day!

Leave a Reply

