Yeah for New Years!

2012-12-03 17.11.36Are you excited for the New Year? This morning I feel especially excited for 2014! Maybe it’s the fact that I’m drinking coffee and haven’t had a bite to eat, but I’m pretty sure that it’s not just the caffeine. Of course, it could also be because it’s the last day of the year. 2013 has gone by so fast, it seems. As I look back on my life this year, what really stands out to me are the people…the amazing lessons I’ve learned, the love that has been shared, the experiences enjoyed…every relationship is unique and a gift. Some appear to be only meant for 2013 and others are being carried on into 2014 with me, but all the experiences move forward with me as a part of me now. I’m aware of the things that I didn’t do or accomplish this past year. In my mind, they were meant for a different time still to come…perhaps this coming year of 2014. All the experiences I did and goals I accomplished are what I choose to make of them. True to who I know myself to be, most of them are very relationship-oriented. Let’s see…what comes to my mind when I think of the excitement of a this coming new year?

2012-12-03 16.54.47There’s a feeling of magic…it’s exciting and fun; full of the unknown and change in the funnest way possible. Who knows what could happen and what we will learn? Every moment is a new moment and limitless as to what we can experience and express.

The other day I found myself being really ungrateful. It was one of those places where I felt stuck and just down-right crabby. I sat with it, looked at, and felt what emotions it provoked in me. A beautiful thing happened…by allowing myself to feel what I was feeling, it transformed naturally into a clarity that felt peaceful, accepting…and I was able to be grateful. Coming to my mind were all the things that I have received and accomplished this past year that are manifestations of what I was desiring, even from the year before. I can see now that I set those things into motion just by allowing myself to want what I want.

2012-12-03 17.12.42In light of these contemplations, I realize and believe that being happy and at peace isn’t just about getting what I want. For me, it’s truly about embracing the capability that we each have to choose to be as we are and feel what we’re feeling, right in that moment. Being fully present is a powerful thing. Perhaps it’s really all that we have. And in any and all experiences, we can choose to learn and grow from them.

If you want to be happy this coming new year of 2014, you can do that. I have no doubt. To accomplish that, perhaps start with allowing yourself to be as you are at any given moment…allow and accept yourself completely. Don’t judge yourself as wrong or right, good or bad, and don’t base it on what you’re doing. Give yourself the gift of valuing who you are by being. Simply be with yourself and what you’re feeling, emotions, thoughts and all. Listen to yourself, have conversations with yourself, and you’ll learn a lot about what you truly want and all the power you have to bring it about. 2014 holds for each and all of us limitless-ness, beautiful magic, joy and love. How do I know this? Because this very moment is composed of those things as well. I desire for us all, a very prosperous, abundant, and love-filled New Years!

2012-12-03 17.32.14

 

One response to “Yeah for New Years!

Leave a Reply

