Thoughts on Birthdays

Today, April 4th, is my 31st birthday! I’m the kind of person that has always loved birthdays. Any occasion to celebrate and have fun gets me excited. I also love birthdays because I think it’s a great way to let people know that they’re loved and their life is meaningful. In the day-to-day, we can easily forget that each of our lives is special and has a unique, purposeful story. Especially when tough times and hard trials occur, which they are bound to happen, it is amazing to receive encouragement and love from another and to then pass it along and share the same with others.

This particular year I am thinking about how wonderful of a loving gift it would be to myself to give to others and consciously be of help to someone. While receiving gifts, well wishes and time from my loved ones is one of my favorite things and speaks volumes of love to me on my birthday or any day, helping others is a way of loving myself as well. Living my life to make a difference and do good for others, is such a powerful way of being thankful for my life. It makes me think of that golden rule we grow up hearing about, “do unto others as you would have done unto you“. One, it is simply needed because all of us in this world need each other and two, it reminds me that my life has a purpose and story to be enjoyed. This story and journey is amazingly and lovingly intertwined with everyone else’s. And yes, I mean everyone. This meaning is not confined by time and restricted to just the day of our birth…it has sparked the desire in my heart to be more conscious of living love and help to others every day of this life I am gifted with.

In years past I have enjoyed birthdays alone and birthdays with friends and loved ones. Sometimes there have been parties and gifts, other times traveling and a new land to experience along with new friends to get to know. Other years it has been more solo and quiet. All my birthdays have been wonderful and precious, because they are all a gift.

What are your thoughts on birthdays? How do you like to celebrate them and what is your favorite thing about the special day?

12 responses to “Thoughts on Birthdays

  1. Oh, Happy Birthday! WIsh you all the best!
    I had birthday yesterday:) Ive always loved it, and Ive always loved April:) Lately thought Im thinking of how my life and the years are passing by while Im postponing all the thing that I want to do. So I decided to stop making exuses and stop planning some things for the distant future and to start living day by day.

    I love this quotation:
    “To die is poignantly bitter, but the idea of having to die without having lived is unbearable…”

  2. I love your thoughts on birthdays! May you have as many to celebrate, as your great-great grandfather in the Dominican Republic: 105 this year and still walking strong! (and you & I know that this is not a joke, we were all there when he celebrated his 100th Birthday!). Happy Birthday!

    • Thank you so much! It’s a gift to hear from bloggers like you. I wish the same for you when your special day comes.
      I hope you stop back in and enjoy other posts as well. Take care!

  3. Pingback: Birthday Traditions | telling family tales

  4. Pingback: Best Birthday Gift In This Lifetime | this man's journey

  5. Pingback: twenty-nine. | more than 140 characters.

  6. Pingback: My Birthday Dream | terry1954

  7. Pingback: Once Upon A Time: The Birthday | Daily Story For Children

  8. Pingback: It’s my sister’s birthday!!! | Fairy Godsister's Blog

  9. Pingback: My First Li’l Break (Perhaps) | A Shade Of Pen

  10. Pingback: ~I Thought Today Was My Day~ | My Life~ and your's

Leave a comment